The National Association of Consumer Credit Administrators was formed in 1935 to improve the supervision of consumer finance companies and to facilitate the administration of laws governing these companies. This includes providing a forum for the exchange of information among its members and educating the public through its Consumer Services Committee.

NACCA members are from 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Alberta, Canada. Its members primarily license and regulate non-depository institutions such as finance companies, mortgage companies, small loan companies, pay day lenders, pawnbrokers, and other similar types of industries.